Organization Committee


Prof. Rodrigo Martins, Chairman; Prof. Alain Tressaud, co-chairman

Prof. Hélène de Rode, (Perpetual Secretary of the European Academy of Sciences); Prof. Elvira Fortunato (FCT-UNL/I3N, Portugal); Prof. João Rocha and Prof. Artur Silva (University of Aveiro, CICECO); Prof. Salomé Pais (Secretary of the Lisbon Academy of Science); Prof. Carlos Salema (Vice President of the Lisbon Academy of Science); Fernando Santana (President of the Portuguese Academy of Engineering); Prof. Jean Etouneau (University of Bordeaux, France)

* * *

EurASc2017 - Symposium 

The Future in Science in the 21st Century : Science

and Technology for the better future of Humankind

Rodrigo Martins
Alain Tressaud

Lisbon Academy of Sciences

Academia das Ciências de Lisboa

R. da Academia das Ciências, 19

1249-122 Lisboa




October 26 & 27, 2017

Rodrigo Martins

Faculty of Science and Technology of New University of Lisbon | Portugal

Rodrigo Ferrão de Paiva Martins is Full Professor and head of Materials Science Department at Faculty of Science and Technology of New University of Lisbon, Director of the Centre of Excellence in Microelectronics and Optoelectronics Processes of the Institute of New Technologies, CEMOP/Uninova; Head of the group of Materials for Electronics, Optoelectronics and Nanotechnologies (MEON) of the Research Materials Center of the Institute for Nanostructures, Nanomodeling and Nanofabrication, CENIMAT/i3N; Member of the Advisory Board of Horizon 2020 on DG Research and Innovation (Advanced Materials, Nanotechnology, Biotechnology and Manufacturing); Chair of The European Committee Affairs of European Materials Research Society; Chair of The Global Leadership and Service Award Committee of the International Union of Materials Research Societies, IUMRS; Vice-Chair of Energy, Materials Industry Research Initiative.

Alain Tressaud

University of Bordeaux | France

Emeritus Research Director of the CNRS at Bordeaux (France). He founded and chaired until 2008 the French Network on Fluorine Chemistry, sponsored by CNRS. He received several awards, including the Atomic Centre Agency Award of French Academy of Sciences (2008), Fluorine Award of the American Chemical Society (2011), and International Henri Moissan Prize (2013). His major research fields are Solid State Chemistry & Materials Science, Fluorine chemistry, and Modification of the surface properties of materials. His scientific production includes more than 360 papers in international journals, 20 chapter's contributions in books and 12 internationalized patents. In addition, he edited 9 books, including the Editorship of several book series at Elsevier: "Advances in Fluorine Science" (2006) and "Progress in Fluorine Science" (2015).